Yolcu360 Blog

World Cup 2022 FAQ

The 2022 World Cup in Qatar is approaching and fans around the world are gearing up to watch every second of the world’s biggest sporting event. The World Cup, which will be held for the 22nd time in 2022, is being held in a Middle Eastern country for the first time and it will be the scene of many firsts this year.

Are you looking for a rental car in Qatar? Check Yolcu360’s Qatar rent a car options for the best price!

When is the World Cup 2022? When does the World Cup start?

The World Cup will be held in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December. Yes, World Cup in November, this is what is being prepared in Qatar. In reality, the months of November and December usually correspond to the end of autumn. The holidays are therefore over, and many are back to school. In the sports world, that of football in this case, the national championships are in full swing.

Where is the World Cup 2022?

The World Cup, which is held every four years, will be held in Qatar this year. The opening match of the 2022 World Cup will be held at Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor, Qatar, with a capacity of 60,000 people. The group stage of the tournament, which will have four daily matches, will last 12 days.

The last 16 rounds without a break will be held on 3 and 6 December. Quarterfinals will be played on December 9-10 and semi-finals will be played on December 13-14.

On December 17, the 3rd place match will be played at the Khalifa U.A Stadium. The winning team will win the trophy in the match to be held on December 18 at the Lusail Stadium with a capacity of 80,000 people in Lusail.


2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers: Who qualified for World Cup 2022?

32 countries qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup are Argentina, Brazil, England, France, Spain, Belgium, Portugal, Germany, Netherlands, Uruguay, Croatia, Cameroon, Serbia, Canada, Costa Rica, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Denmark, Mexico, United States, Senegal, Wales, Poland, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Switzerland, Ghana, Republic of Korea, and Ecuador. And host country Qatar will lead the way in the tournament opener.

What teams are in the World Cup 2022? World Cup 2022 Groups


The teams and groups that will participate in the 2022 World Cup are as follows:

  • Group A: Senegal, Ecuador, Qatar, Netherlands
  • Group B: England, Scotland/Wales/Ukraine, USA, Iran,
  • Group C: Poland, Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Mexico
  • Group D: Denmark, Tunisia, France, Peru/Australia/United Arab Emirates
  • Group E: Spain, Costa Rica/New Zealand, Germany, Japan
  • Group F: Croatia, Belgium, Canada, Morocco
  • Group G: Serbia, Brazil, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • Group H: South Korea, Uruguay, Ghana, Portugal

The team that win the 2022 World Cup will earn $42 million, while the second team will receive $30 million, the third place $27 million and the fourth-placed team $25 million. Apart from these, each team participating in the tournament will be given a cash prize, and this amount will increase for the teams that pass the eliminations.

Where to buy World Cup 2022 tickets?

2022 World Cup tickets are on sale at fifa.com/tickets. The sale of tickets in four categories will carry on till the end of the tournament. The matches will also be broadcast on contracted TV channels. Tickets for the opening match range from $54 to $300, while tickets for the final match reach up to $1,600.

What has Qatar done so far for the 2022 World Cup?

Qatar has built seven new stadiums just for the World Cup. A new city was built for the final match. In addition, more than 100 new hotels were added to the city, while new metro lines and roads were also built for the smooth progress of transportation. Those who come to visit the city for the World Cup or another time can now easily reach their desired destinations with the developing metro lines and taxis.

Qatar, which spent 220 billion dollars for these preparations, is expected to bring 17 billion dollars to its economy with the World Cup.

2022 Qatar World Cup Stadiums


In order to avoid transportation problems in the city, the stadiums where the matches will be played were built close to each other. In Qatar, which has been in an intense and modern construction for the last few years, long works have been carried out for the World Cup. While Lusail Iconic Stadium will host the final on December 18, the other stadiums where the matches will be played and their capacities are as follows:

  • Lusail Lusail Iconic Stadium 80 thousand people
  • Al Khor Al Bayt Stadium 60 thousand people
  • Doha Stadium 974 40 thousand people
  • Doha Al Thumama Stadium 40 thousand people
  • Al Rayyan Education City Stadium 45,350 people
  • Al Rayyan Ahmad bin Ali Stadium 44,740 people
  • Al Rayyan Khalifa International Stadium 40 thousand people
  • Al Wakrah Al Janoub Stadium 40 thousand people

Qatar World Cup Official Ball: Al Rihla


The official match ball for the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup was also introduced by Adidas. Producing its 14th ball in a row for the FIFA World Cup, Adidas designed the Al Rihla to move faster through the air and withstand maximum match speed. Al Rihla, meaning “Journey” in Arabic, is inspired by the dhow, while the Speedshell panel shape combines with texture and diamond embossing to increase yaw and accuracy, while vibrant graphics shine under a pearlescent surface.

World Cup Mascot: La’eeb


The mascot called “La’eeb”, inspired by Qatar’s traditional outfit ‘kandura’, means super talented player. It is also stated that La’eeb, who is described as adventurous, fun and curious, will bring the joy of football to everyone.

How many people will travel to Qatar for the World Cup 2022?

More than 1.2 million visitors are expected to come to the country who want to watch the tournament and see the football players closely.

When is the World Cup 2022 Final?

The final of the tournament, where host Qatar will play the opening match on November 21, will be played on December 18. The last 16 matches will be held on 3-6 December, the quarter-finals on 9-10 December, and the semi-finals on 13 and 14 December. On December 18, the heart of the world will beat in Qatar for the final match.

Add comment